Posted on

My 25 Favourite Songs of 2012: Part 2

A continuation of my count down of my favourite songs of 2012:

20. Free– Graffiti6 from the album Colours

This year, as you can see from part 1, I have been all about the old school R&B sound. Graffiti6 does this sound well. This track is catchy and involves lots of falsetto which is the best stuff to sing along too (no matter what my wife says.)

19. It Ain’t Over by Shad from the EP Melancholy and the Infinite Shadness

Ok, so in the 90’s I really badly wanted to be Lenny Kravitz. I mean that guy was unhumanly attractive, wore whatever he wanted and made some sweet funk inspired rock. I grew my hair long just so I could have dreads like him, but never actually did it because I figured I would look more like one of the guys from Korn then Lenny. It seems that Shad had that same love of Lenny. This is the highlight of an EP that reminisces about the 90’s, a decade I really, really loved.

18. Below My Feet by Mumford & Sons from the album Babel

So I didn’t love the new Mumford album, it was decent, but sort of just a continuation of Sigh No More. I mean they have their sound: banjo, driving base drum, aggressive strumming, emotional songs about love, which is great, but you can only do so much with it. That being said, this song stood out for me from the new album. I especially love the break down in the middle of the song when (on the album) their is the rare appearance of a full drum kit. They also did a great performance of it on SNL, which really drew me in. I couldn’t find that performance (sorry), but here is a similar on from Letterman.

17. Little Talks by Of Monsters and Men from the album My Head is an Animal

When you first listen to this song you wouldn’t believe that these guys are from Iceland. I mean the song is, how do I say it, lacking the weirdness that we all have grown to love from Iceland bands like Bjork, Sigur Ros, Jonsi and Mum. Not to say this isn’t great, I am a sucker for guy/girl duet pop songs, and it has a recurring “hey” part that is great to join in with, but it just isn’t weird enough. That is until you watch the video, and once it starts your like, “Oh, there is the Icelandic weirdness”. Check it out.

16. Man On Fire– Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros from the album Here

This band is best known for their crazy catchy single “Home” that came out a couple years ago. Though this song is not as catchy, it is a feel good, psychedelic folk song that grows on you the more you listen to it. Check out this live version performed on Dave Letterman and you will realize that the band is fronted by Jesus, or at least the guy who played Jesus in the 70’s movie. I am also posting the music video because it contains some great ballet and double dutch jump rope, a combination that is not utilized enough in popular music these days.

Check back tomorrow for songs 11-15 of my top 25 songs of 2012.

About christianharvey

I am a youth worker, husband, dad and drummer.

2 responses to “My 25 Favourite Songs of 2012: Part 2

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Songs of 2012: Part 3 « The Christian Harvey Blog

  2. Pingback: My 25 Favourite Songs of 2012: Part 4 | The Christian Harvey Blog

Leave a Reply

